Contents
What options are available when versioning is enabled?
When enabled, new versions are added to an item’s history after changes are saved. The number of versions stored and the visibility of draft or minor versions can be modified for each list and library.
How do I restore a file through version history?
View previous versions of a file
- Open the file you want to view.
- Click File > Info > Version history.
- Select a version to open it in a separate window.
- If you want to restore a previous version you’ve opened, select Restore.
How do I enable file history in Drive?
Set up a drive for File History
- Swipe in from the right edge of the screen, and then tap Search.
- Enter File History settings in the search box, and then select File History settings.
- Select Select a drive, and choose the network or external drive you want to use.
- Turn on File History.
How to enable versioning for a list or library?
Open the list or library that you want to enable versioning. Select Settings , and then select List Settings or Library Settings. On the Settings page, select Versioning settings. From the Version settings page, you have the following settings available: Require content approval for submitted items.
Is there a way to change the version of a document?
To enable versioning on a document library, select the settings gear icon and select Library Settings. To enable versioning on a list, Click the Settings gear icon and select List Settings. Select Yes for the option ‘Create a version each time you edit a file in this document library?’
Is there a way to restore a previous version of a file?
You can’t open or copy previous versions of files that were created by Windows Backup, but you can restore them. To restore a previous version, select the previous version, and then click Restore. The file or folder will replace the current version on your computer, and the replacement cannot be undone.
To disable versioning in a SharePoint 2016 or 2013 list or library. Do the same steps for enabling, but on the Version Settings page, select No versioning. For Require content approval, you can also select No. To view, restore, or delete an earlier version. To restore an earlier version of a document, follow these steps.