Contents
3.4 Delete a shared drive Make sure the shared drive is empty. If you want to keep files or folders, move them to My Drive. Or, to delete them, move them to the trash. click Delete shared drive.
If you delete a file from a network share, it is gone. If you look in the Recycle Bin, it won’t be there. This happens because Windows is organized so that deleted files can be captured by the Windows Recycle bin on local drives only.
A Shared Drive with content in it cannot be deleted. And because every big company does dumb things, Google does not make this obvious. They simply remove the option from the menu vs greying it out with a note about the directory having to be empty for deletion … or really any clue at all would be nice.
Where does a folder go when you delete it?
When you delete a file or folder, it goes into the Recycle bin, where you have a chance to restore it.
What happens when you remove a file from a shared drive?
When you remove a shared file, be it within the shared with me or in your own drive, it really just removes the shortcut to that file. If you had access before, you will still have access after. If you click the link to that file after you remove it, the file will reappear in the shared with me section.
What happens when you delete a file from Google Drive?
Things are straightforward when you delete a Google Drive file or folder that isn’t shared with anyone. Basically, if you have uploaded a file to your own Google Drive folder, deleting it will move it to Google Drive’s Trash or Bin folder.
Can a hard drive be removed from a computer?
Just be sure you somehow manage to destroy the disc itself because just disabling the drive won’t help much if the disc inside it is still readable when you’re finished. Bottom line: Removing the hard drive/SSD (and the optical disc if there is one) from a PC will indeed completely remove all of your files from the machine.