Can you move files between shared drives?

Can you move files between shared drives?

To move files from My Drive into a shared drive or between shared drives, drag the files into the destination shared drive. To move folders, contact your administrator.

How do I move a document into a shared folder?

With your Google Docs file OPEN, go to the File menu and choose Move to Folder. Then select the target folder and click the Move button.

How do I move a file from my Google Drive to a shared drive?

To create copies:

  1. Go to “Shared with me” in your old Drive.
  2. Select the files that you wish to save.
  3. Right-click on them and select “Make a copy”. How to make a copy of a shared file in Google Drive.
  4. Go to My Drive and view the files.

How do I move files from drive to team drive?

Move individual files from My Drive to Shared Team Drives:

  1. Select file(s) within “My Drive”
  2. Right-click and select “Move to…”
  3. Navigate to destination folder within “Shared Drives”
  4. Click “Move”

How do I download from a shared drive?

Go to https://drive.google.com and log in with your Google account (if you are not logged in already).

  1. Click on “Shared with me” in the main menu on the left.
  2. Right click (or Ctrl+click if you’re on a Mac) on the file or folder you wish to download, and click on “Download”.

What happens when I move a folder to a shared drive?

For details about moving folders as an administrator, see Migrate content to a shared drive. Anyone you directly shared a file with retains access, unless your shared drive doesn’t allow non-members. People who had access to the file from a folder that’s been shared don’t retain access once you move a file.

How can I access files on a shared drive?

To allow users to edit files in a shared drive in Drive for desktop and Chrome OS, give the user Content manager or Manager access to the shared drive. Requests for access to files in shared drives go to the file creator if they still have edit access to the file, whether or not they are a member of the shared drive.

What happens if I change the restriction on a shared drive?

If you change a shared drive’s restriction settings, this does not automatically remove existing users or change a file’s sharing permissions. For example, assume a user outside the organization is added to a file. Then later on, a restriction is applied to the file’s shared drive. In that case, the external user is not removed from the file.

How to prevent external access to shared files?

Sharing outside your organization —Allow or prevent external people from accessing files in the shared drive. Sharing with non-members —Allow or prevent shared drive members from giving non-members access to files in the shared drive.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JKnyuNb3rkc