Contents
What happens if the owner of a Google Doc deleted their account?
1 Answer. If an owners account is deleted, the files are deleted as well. If an owner deletes a file, the file is deleted for everyone involved. It doesn’t make sense for Google to have stagnant files, space costs money in the world of data-centers.
Click on the blue box reading “Share” in the top right corner, and then, in the bottom right corner of the popup window, click “Advanced.” 3. On the new popup menu that appears, to simply unshare the Doc entirely, click the “X” next to the name of each person you want to remove access from.
Do shared drives get deleted?
Each Shared drive has its own trash. Files and folders in the Trash are deleted forever after 30 days. Team members can delete specific files sooner.
How do I disconnect from a shared drive?
You can remove yourself from the shared folder.
- Highlight the folder you want to be removed from.
- “Sharing” and “Details” appear to the right of my folders. Choose “Sharing”
- Scroll down to your name & click on the ” . . .” that follows your name.
- Select “Remove”
I’m thinking that when an owner (whose account is functional) deletes a shared file, that shared file can still be accessed by those with whom it is shared. Why then can’t a shared file be accessed by the people it’s shared with even when the owner’s account is deleted?
Why then can’t a shared file be accessed by the people it’s shared with even when the owner’s account is deleted? If an owners account is deleted, the files are deleted as well. If an owner deletes a file, the file is deleted for everyone involved.
Can you delete the user account on a shared drive?
Delete the user account of the original file owner. If you use shared drives for shared files, the files are owned by the entire team. You don’t need to worry about losing these files when someone leaves the organization. Shared drives are available with these editions.
How can I find out who deleted my Google Docs?
In Drive there’s an Information button, top-right. Press it, and it will show you activity in the current folder. Also, nobody but you can actually permanently delete your files. They can put it in trash, but unless you empty the trash, the files will stay there.