Contents
What does resetting protected data mean on iPhone?
When you Reset Protected Data, the only thing you will lose is Keychain, Home (smart devices, home security, etc.) and possibly some other passwords on your phone.
What does resetting protected data do?
Fortunately, photos, videos, contacts, and applications will all still be intact after resetting the protected data. Only the data stored in the iCloud Keychain will be deleted, such as website usernames and passwords, and most importantly your credit card details.
What is protected data on iPhone?
Data Protection allows the device to respond to common events such as incoming phone calls but also enables a high level of encryption for user data. Certain system apps (such as Messages, Mail, Calendar, Contacts, Photos) and Health data values use Data Protection by default.
What happens if I reset end-to-end encrypted data on my iPhone?
Data encrypted with end-to-end encryption is protected by the highest level of security, and includes things like payment info, messages stored in iCloud, health data, and passwords stored in iCloud Keychain. Resetting end-to-end encryption means that specific data wouldn’t be available on the new device.
What does it mean to reset end-to-end encrypted data on iCloud?
Messages in iCloud also uses end-to-end encryption. This ensures you can recover your Messages if you lose access to iCloud Keychain and your trusted devices. When you turn off iCloud Backup, a new key is generated on your device to protect future messages and isn’t stored by Apple.
Why do I have to reset end-to-end encrypted data?
What does it mean to reset your end-to-end encrypted data to finish setting up iCloud?
For certain sensitive information, Apple uses end-to-end encryption. This means that only you can access your information, and only on devices where you’re signed into iCloud.
Why do I have to reset end to end encrypted data?