Contents
What will deleting my backup do?
If you delete iCloud backup, your photos, messages, and other app data will be permanently removed. Your music files, movies, and the apps themselves are not in iCloud backups.
What happens if you interrupt an iPhone backup?
Interrupted or incomplete backups are not saved, so they will start from the beginning, as there’s no way for iCloud to know what has changed in the meantime. Also note that you can backup to your computer via iTunes.
Why is my iPhone backup stuck?
iCloud backup might be stuck by no enough storage. Go to iPhone Settings > [your name] > iCloud > Manage Storage > Backups > [your device name]. You could see when you backup iPhone with iCloud last time, the next backup size and the app data that would be included in your backup.
What happens when you delete a file from a backup?
It depends on the specifics of your backup process, but in general, once you back something up, it remains in the backup file until the backup itself is deleted. That’s important, as we’ll see shortly. If you delete a file from your hard drive, the file is simply not present in future backups.
Is there a way to keep files from being deleted?
Hiding Your Files To Prevent Them From Being Deleted Right-click on your file and select Properties. You’ll be in the General tab by default. At the bottom of your screen, you’ll find an option saying Hidden.
Do you need to restore an image after you delete it?
You indicated you don’t want the file to be restored if you’d deleted it. Exactly how you’ll go about that depends on the specifics of your backup approach. For example, if you’re taking regular daily image backups 1, then you simply need to restore to a backup image taken after you’d deleted the file.
What happens if I delete a file from my hard drive?
If you delete a file from your hard drive, the file is simply not present in future backups. Become a Patron of Ask Leo! and go ad-free! It’s important that files remain in the backups you create. For example, one of the things that backups protect you from is an accidental delete.