Contents
How do I erase my iPhone but keep my contacts?
First make sure you have a current iCloud backup of your phone before resetting. You can backup manually by going to “Settings > iCloud > Storage & Backup > Back up Now”. Second, make sure your contacts are being synced “Settings > iCloud > Contacts” button turned ON (green showing).
Does resetting my iPhone delete my contacts?
Resetting your iPhone will completely remove your settings and your personal info, like contacts, photos, etc. So, before you do a factory reset, try restarting your iPhone. This may help address minor software issues. If you decide to do a factory reset, you should back up your iPhone first.
How can I reset my phone but keep my contacts?
You can still perform a factory reset without losing data, by syncing contacts to Gmail first.
- Navigate to Settings, Accounts and then Google.
- Toggle the switch next to Contacts to the on position.
- Wait for the syncing process to complete.
- Log into Gmail and make sure everything is there.
What is the difference between reset all settings and erase all content?
Answer: A: Reset All Settings and Erase All Content and Settings do different things. Reset all Settings removes things like your Wifi password and settings you’ve set on your iPad for Apps, mail, etc. Erase All Content and Settings restores a device to it’s out of the box state when it was first turned on.
Can you just backup contacts on iPhone?
Back up contacts On the Home screen, tap Settings. Tap the iCloud Backup app at the bottom of the list. Turn iCloud Backup on if disabled. Tap Back Up Now and wait for the backup to complete.
What will happen if I restore my contacts?
To avoid duplicates, your phone restores only contacts that it doesn’t already have. Your restored contacts also sync to your current Google Account and other devices.
What happens if I delete all my contacts on my iPad?
If, for example, you opened the contacts app and started deleting contacts, they would also be deleted from the iPad (assuming you were syncing contacts with iCloud). But tapping Erase All Content and Settings won’t delete anything from your iCloud account or any of your other devices. It will only erase the phone.
What happens if I erase ” all settings “?
Erase all content and settings means exactly that. Contacts and photos are content. You will be left with an iPhone that has nothing on it, like the day it was purchased. Now it is telling me I need a password to be able to reset it… I don’t know what the password is. What should I do?
How do I get my contacts back from iCloud?
So it puts your contacts and data from your phone into your new iCloud account. Changing your Apple ID will not cause you to lose contacts. If you don’t already have an Apple ID, create one now at id.apple.com. Then, on your iPhone, go to Settings > iCloud, and delete the account. Make sure to choose to ‘keep on this iPhone’ when prompted.
What happens when I erase all settings on my iPhone?
After erasing all content and settings on your iPhone, it will force your idevice into recovery mode. The iPhone needs to be plugged into a computer that is pre-installed with iTunes and then restored. Erasing all contents and settings off your iPhone does NOT mean the device will be completely erased.