How do I merge two user accounts on a Mac?

How do I merge two user accounts on a Mac?

Merging Two Accounts into One

  1. In the newer account (the one you want to keep), open System Preferences on your Mac.
  2. Select “Users & Groups.” Once opened, click on the lock icon in the bottom-left corner and enter in your administrative password.
  3. Select the user account you want to delete and merge with another.

How do I manage multiple users on my Mac?

Set up users, guests, and groups on Mac

  1. On your Mac, choose Apple menu > System Preferences, then click Users & Groups.
  2. Click the Add button below the list of users.
  3. Click the New Account pop-up menu, then choose a type of user.
  4. Enter a full name for the new user.

Can I combine 2 Apple accounts?

You cannot merge multiple Apple ID accounts into one.

How to merge two user accounts on MacBook Air?

Move of them to Macintosh HD > Users > your-new-user > Public > Dropbox. All files and folder will be copied to the new user account. Depending on the file size this process requires some time. Now, In Finder go to Macintosh HD > Users > your-new-user > Public > Dropbox and move your files to your preferred location e.g pictures, music and so on.

Where do I Find my user account on my MacBook Air?

From your main account open Finder and locate the user account for your pc files. (Macintosh HD/users/pcfiles) Right or control click on that folder and select Get Info. Under Sharing and Permissions click on the lock icon to unlock permissions. Give admin password when asked.

What happens when I combine two user accounts?

A problem occurs when one uses Migration Assistant to bring a user account over from another machine or via TimeMachine or bootable clone. Instead of the files going into the active user account, it creates another account on the machine matching the ones migrated.

How do I Delete my previous MacBook Air user account?

Now, In Finder go to Macintosh HD > Users > your-new-user > Public > Dropbox and move your files to your preferred location e.g pictures, music and so on. If you have successfully copied all files, you can delete your previous user account.