Contents
Can I delete old backup files?
The Backup and Restore Center shows you a list of all backups that have taken place recently, noting the size of the backup. If you want to delete a backup, click it once and then click Delete. Look for the really old, really big backups. Don’t worry — you’re only deleting the backup, not the original data.
How do I automatically delete old backups?
You can purge old backups in following steps.
- Go Start > Control Panel > System and Security > Backup and Restore. Or, you can type in backup after pressing Windows key, and then click Backup and Restore.
- Select View backups.
- Pitch on the backup you want to delete, and click Delete button.
How to delete all versions of a file in SharePoint?
If you don’t see Version History, in the dialog, click the ( ellipsis), and then select Version History. In the Version History dialog, select Delete All Versions. To delete all the versions of the file or item you’ve selected, select OK. Note: SharePoint does not support minor versions in Lists.
Hard deletion occurs when a user purges deleted items from the site collection Recycle Bin, when the retention and backup periods expire, or when an administrator permanently deletes a site collection using the Remove-SPODeletedSite cmdlet.
How to delete a previous version of a file?
If you don’t see Version History, in the dialog, select the (ellipsis), and then select Version History. A list of versions of the file appears. In the Version History dialog, hover next to the version you want, and to get a list of options, on the right side, select the down arrow. Select Delete. To delete the version, select OK.
What happens if I accidentally delete a SharePoint site?
If you accidentally delete a site collection, it can be restored by a global or SharePoint admin using the SharePoint admin center. Deleted site collections are retained for 93 days. After 93 days, sites and all their content and settings are permanently deleted, including lists, libraries, pages, and any subsites.