How do I move a document instead of copy?

How do I move a document instead of copy?

Press and hold the Control (Ctrl) key while you drag and drop to always copy. Press and hold the Shift key while you drag and drop to always move. Press and hold the Alt or Control+Shift keys while you drag and drop to always create a shortcut.

Why do my files copy instead of move?

By default—depending on the location of the destination folder—File Explorer might move it instead of copying it, or vice versa. Copying happens when you drop the file or folder into a directory on a different drive. Moving occurs when you drop it on the same drive, as we’ll do below.

How do I move files from one site to another in SharePoint?

Once you click on the ‘ Move to ’ or ‘ Copy to ’ option, a menu will open with the option to select the destination. 6. Click on the destination site where you want to copy or move your files/folders. If your destination site has multiple document libraries, you will need to navigate to the proper subfolder just like Windows Explorer).

What happens when you move a file to a new site?

This happens when the file with the same name already exists at the destination. The file or folder contains properties that will be lost at the new destination. This happens when you move files across sites, and the library at the destination does not have the same custom metadata as the source.

How to move a site from one site to another?

Select the site of you want to move in the left navigation pane. Check the box next to the subsite you want to move in the right pane. Click Actions drop-down and click Move. Select Destination of the subsite selected in the next dialog box. 2. Yes, it’s feasible to move the contents from a team site to a sub-site within the team site.

What happens when I try to move a document?

The Move to operation will fail if you attempt to move the document across libraries and the destination has enforced unique values. When a file is moving, it continues to appear in the source directory until it’s fully moved to the destination and then it will be deleted.