Contents
How do I restrict a branch in BitBucket?
2 Answers
- Go to Repository > Settings > Branch permissions > Add permissions.
- Select “Branch pattern”
- Add branch pattern, ex: release/ABC-*
- Select one of the restrictions available.
- Add the group exception, ex: ABC.
Do not delete branch after merge?
4 Answers. There’s no problem in deleting branches that have been merged in. All the commits are still available in the history, and even in the GitHub interface, they will still show up (see, e.g., this PR which refers to a fork that I’ve deleted after the PR got accepted).
What command in Git is used to prevent the deletion of branch if it has unmerged changes?
The git branch command allows you to list, create , rename , and delete branches. Please note, if you delete an unmerged branch, you will lose all the changes on that branch. To list all the branches that contain unmerged changes, use the git branch –no-merged command.
Should I delete release branches?
They’re unnecessary. In most cases, branches, especially branches that were related to a pull request that has since been accepted, serve no purpose. They’re clutter. They don’t add any significant technical overhead, but they make it more difficult for humans to work with lists of branches in the repository.
How do I restrict a git branch?
Creating a branch protection rule
- On GitHub, navigate to the main page of the repository.
- Under your repository name, click Settings.
- In the left menu, click Branches.
- Next to “Branch protection rules”, click Add rule.
- Under “Branch name pattern”, type the branch name or pattern you want to protect.
How do I give access to a specific branch in git?
To protect a branch:
- Go to a repository in a project.
- Choose Settings > Branch permissions.
- Click Add permission.
- In the Branches field, select either Branch name, Branch pattern, or Branching model.
Can I delete a merged branch?
There’s no problem in deleting branches that have been merged in. All the commits are still available in the history, and even in the GitHub interface, they will still show up (see, e.g., this PR which refers to a fork that I’ve deleted after the PR got accepted).
What happens when you merge a branch in Git?
When you perform a merge, you effectively merge one branch into another—typically a feature branch or bug fix branch into a main branch such as master or develop. Not only will the code changes get merged in, but also all the commits that went into the feature branch.
Does deleting a Git branch delete the commits?
In Git, branches are just pointers (references) to commits in a directed acyclic graph (DAG) of commits. This means that deleting a branch removes only references to commits, which might make some commits in the DAG unreachable, thus invisible.
What happens if I delete branch?
Is it safe to delete a branch in git?
You can safely remove a branch with git branch -d yourbranch . If it contains unmerged changes (ie, you would lose commits by deleting the branch), git will tell you and won’t delete it. So, deleting a merged branch is cheap and won’t make you lose any history.