Contents
Is there a way to silently leave a Slack channel?
Leave channels Open the channel you’d like to leave. Click the channel name in the conversation header. Click the About tab. Click Leave channel.
Can you disable DMs in Slack?
Enable or disable Slack Connect DMs Workspace Owners can enable or disable this option: From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left. Check or uncheck the box next to Enable Slack Connect for direct messages. Click Save.
Can you view a Slack channel without joining?
No. A Slack user – including admins and owners – can only see non-public channels (e.g. private channels, direct messages channels, private group chat, etc.) they are of member of. It’s one of Slack’s security features that even admins can not see or join private channels of others.
Why can’t I delete Slack message?
If you can’t delete a message, find an owner or admin to ask for help. Owners and admins can also delete members’ messages in public channels, private channels, and group direct messages (DMs) they’re part of. Hover over the message you’d like to delete. Click the three dots icon.
Can you see who has viewed Slack channel?
Unfortunately there is no read receipt feature, although it is on their dev backlog according to this Tweet thread. There isn’t much you can do outside of asking if they saw it. Some other possibilities: Look at their screen to see if their Slack app is showing the unread message notification.
Can Slack owners see private messages?
In brief, yes, but they can’t actively read your messages as you send them. Slack allows employers to download and export Slack conversations, whether they’re public or private, into zip files. However, to adhere to GDPR rules, they now allow all business owners to export private conversations.
Where do I find join and leave messages in slack?
From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left. Select Settings & administration, then click Workspace settings. Scroll down to the Join & Leave Messages section and click Expand. Check or uncheck the box next to Show a message when people join or leave channels. Click Save.
How do I deactivate a slack account on my computer?
From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left. Select Settings & administration from the menu, then click Manage members. Click the three dots icon to the right of the member you’d like to deactivate.
How do I remove someone from my workspace in slack?
Keep in mind that anyone you remove from your workspace will remain part of the Enterprise Grid org. From your desktop, click your workspace name in the top left. Select Settings & administration from the menu, then click Manage members. Click the three dots icon to the right of the member you’d like to remove. Select Remove from workspace.
Why do I get messages when I leave a Slack channel?
In Slack, messages are shown when someone joins or leaves a channel to let other members know who’s coming and going. Workspace Owners and Workspace Admins can manage these messages and choose to turn them off if they’d like. By default, messages are shown when someone joins or leaves a channel.