What happens to shared Google Drive when account is deleted?

What happens to shared Google Drive when account is deleted?

The way sharing works, you are not giving the other users copies of your data- you are giving them access to that data inside your cloud. Therefore if your account is suspended or deleted, the links to the data that you shared to other people are terminated.

Can you recover files from a deleted Google Account?

If you deleted your Google Account, you may be able to get it back. If it’s been awhile since you deleted your account, you may not be able to recover the data in your account. If you recover your account, you’ll be able to sign in as usual to Gmail, Google Play, and other Google services.

Does deleting Google Account Delete Google Drive?

Deleting an entire Google Account means that the content in your Google Drive, Google Calendar and Google Photos accounts will be lost and you will no longer have access to subscriptions purchased on YouTube or Google Play with that account (such as apps, movies, games, music and TV shows).

Are deleted Google Drive files recoverable?

Recently deleted files go to the Trash/Bin folder in your Google Drive and from here you can restore them within 30 days. Simply right click on the file you want to recover and click Restore. If the file you’re looking for is missing, then it may have been permanently deleted or just hiding in your Drive.

What happens when a Google Drive is deleted?

After you delete a file permanently, anyone you’ve shared the file will lose access to it. If you want others to be able to view the file, you can transfer ownership to someone else.

How do I permanently delete my Google Drive?

To delete your Google Drive account:

  1. Go to drive.google.com in your web browser and log in.
  2. Click on your profile picture in the top-right corner, and select My Account from the drop-down menu.
  3. Under the Account Preferences category, click Delete Your Account or Services.

Can you delete Google Drive?

You can easily delete a file from Google Drive on an Android with several taps. You can send the file to your Google Drive trash folder and delete it from the trash to permanently remove it.

What happens when a shared Google Drive is deleted?

I’m thinking that when an owner (whose account is functional) deletes a shared file, that shared file can still be accessed by those with whom it is shared. Why then can’t a shared file be accessed by the people it’s shared with even when the owner’s account is deleted?

What happens if my Google account gets deleted?

Yes. The way sharing works, you are not giving the other users copies of your data- you are giving them access to that data inside your cloud. Therefore if your account is suspended or deleted, the links to the data that you shared to other people are terminated.

What happens when a shared file is deleted?

Why then can’t a shared file be accessed by the people it’s shared with even when the owner’s account is deleted? If an owners account is deleted, the files are deleted as well. If an owner deletes a file, the file is deleted for everyone involved.

How can I remove a file from my Google Drive?

Removes the given file from the root of the user’s Drive. This method does not delete the file, but if a file is removed from all of its parents, it cannot be seen in Drive except by searching for it or using the “All items” view. Thanks for contributing an answer to Web Applications Stack Exchange!