Contents
Why am I getting Facebook notifications when friends update their status?
Most Facebook notifications tend to be a result of your own interactions with the site. You get notifications because you comment on posts, join groups or follow pages. The less you do of these things, the fewer notifications you’ll receive.
Why do I get notifications about other people’s posts?
By default, you get a notification when people on your Close Friends list post new content (status update, link, photo, etc.). There’s a setting to turn this off. You’re an inactive user with less than 10 friends. You only get notified via email and you can opt out of this also.
How do I stop Facebook from notifying my friends of my status updates?
1 Answer
- Press the Facebook logo to the Facebook Home page.
- On the left-hand side, under Lists, press Close Friends. You may need to press More first.
- In the top-right corner, press the Notifications button and select Off.
How do I stop getting notifications from people’s posts on Facebook?
Go to the friend’s Timeline and point at the Friends button, in the menu that opens make sure the Notifications item is unchecked.
Why does Facebook Tell me when someone adds a photo?
If a user wishes to tag a friend in the photo, that friend will receive a notification. The new system that Facebook has started rolling out will send notifications to all users found in newly uploaded photos, not just those that have been actively tagged.
Why am I still getting notifications from someone I unfollowed Instagram?
This is because by unfollowing someone, you are no longer in their list of followers. Once you unfollow them, the notification will be removed. However, the notification will still be shown for the period of time that you remain followed.
How do I stop getting notifications from friends posts?
You’ll automatically get notifications when people on your “Close Friends list” post to Facebook, but you can adjust these notifications:
- Click in the top-right and select “Settings”
- Click “Notifications” in the left column.
- Click “Close Friend Activity”
- Click “On Facebook”
Is unfollow the same as unfriend on Facebook?
Your Facebook friend won’t be notified when you unfriend them, but you’ll disappear from their friend list. Blocking someone ends all contact, while unfollowing is a less permanent solution than unfriending or blocking. Visit Business Insider’s Tech Reference library for more stories.