Why is Photoshop making me save a copy?

Why is Photoshop making me save a copy?

“Save a Copy automatically creates a copy of your work and allows you to export and share in your desired file format like JPEG, EPS, and so on, without overwriting the original file and protecting your data in the process.”

How do I change my save settings in Photoshop?

Click the Edit (Win) or Photoshop (Mac) menu, point to Preferences, and then click File Handling. Select the File Saving Options you want to use: Image Previews. Select from: Always Save, Never Save, or Ask When Saving.

How Do You Save As instead of Save a Copy?

Important: The Office apps automatically save as you work. To avoid overwriting your original file, save a copy before you start making changes….To save a copy of a file, do the following:

  1. Tap File > Save a Copy.
  2. Choose where you want to save the file.
  3. Enter a file name and then tap Save a Copy.

Why do I get save a copy instead of Save As?

Save A Copy: saves the document under a new name, but the original stays open for editing, not the new one. Save As: You save the document under a new name, and the new file stays open for editing. The workflow difference is that once you create a “Save As” incremented copy, you are then working in that new project.

What is the difference between save a copy and save as?

Save A Copy: saves the document under a new name, but the original stays open for editing, not the new one. Save As: You save the document under a new name, and the new file stays open for editing. Save As might make sense in an episodic series, like editing a daily vlog.

Where are my Photoshop files saved?

By default, Photoshop will save your files in the same location as the original media. That means if you opened a photo from your Desktop folder, your file would be saved on your Desktop as well.

Why does Adobe Photoshop not save as a copy?

If you do not wish to see the “Save as a copy” checkbox ticked, you must ensure the open document adheres to the capabilities of the format you wish to save to. It is a feature designed to save you from yourself and prevent you from saving to a format which causes you to lose image data unexpectedly.

What do you do when you save an image in Photoshop?

When saving, defaults to the folder images originated from. Deselect this option to instead default to the folder you last saved in. Background saving lets you keep working in Photoshop after you choose a Save command. You don’t have to wait for Photoshop to finish saving the file.

How to duplicate a document in Adobe Photoshop?

One simple method is to duplicate the document first by using Image > Duplicate. So when you then save it as a jpeg, you can just close the jpeg document window after it has finished saving, and the original layered file will still be open. Don’t forget to save your original document as a PSD if you want to work on it in future.

Where is the save for web option in Adobe Photoshop?

Applies to: Adobe Photoshop. As of the 2015 release of Photoshop CC, the File > Save For Web option has been moved to File > Export > Save For Web (Legacy) alongside newer export options. To learn about these new export options, see Export artboards, layers, and more.